Puzzle 38 – Shikaku [Skyscrapers]

Divide the following grid into buildings with sides perpendicular to the sides of the grids. The height of the building is equal to the area of its base, and the numbers around the grid give the amount of buildings that the outside observer standing there could see if they were looking directly into the grid.

This is a Wednesday combination of shikaku and skyscrapers.

Here’s the thing: putting me on a schedule is a lot like putting an elephant on a unicycle; I’ll probably only ever see it in my dreams 😛 So thanks for being patient, unless you are in the future looking back, in which case do we have teleportation yet? 😀 Anyway, as a reward of your patience (but actually because I had a bunch of time to make puzzles), there will be a thematic hunt-style puzzle at the end of this week like #30.

Does anyone have a program made to generate the graphics for puzzles? Because at the moment I’m using MS paint, and that’s… not ideal.

untitle

 

One thought on “Puzzle 38 – Shikaku [Skyscrapers]

  1. On puzzle graphics:
    There are some notes on this by Robert Vollmert here:
    http://maybepuzzles.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/drawing-puzzles-with-tikz/
    There is also a full-blown GUI tool by Aaron Chan:
    http://canadapuzzleteam.wordpress.com/puzzle-maker/
    I have a lot of scripts in Asymptote (http://asymptote.sourceforge.net/) for the types that I make. I intend to clean up the code and put it on my blog at some point, but I can also send the current version to you right away if you like.

Leave a Reply

